A Purpose

by: Valeria Nuñez

A Purpose

“Jorge L. Pitre and Father Omar in the Church.  Jorge was in the seminary.”

“Jorge L. Pitre and Father Omar in the Church. Jorge was in the seminary.”

It’s Sunday morning, in San Sebastián Puerto Rico, he is sitting on his brown leather chair, and his big brown eyes are closed as he tells me all he can remember about his life when he was my age.

“I was just in the search of who I was and what I wanted to do the rest of my life.” He started, “And I found what I thought was the purpose of my life.”

At the age of 19, Jorge Luis Pitre entry the seminary, he chooses the path of service to God. His parents were Catholics and though him and his two sisters the importance of having God in their life. He served for two years, it was a good life and, as he tells, you can see how much he learned from it but that wasn’t what he really wanted.

“There are so many ways to serve God and I knew a wanted to serve Him but this wasn’t the way”.

We were sitting in his bright and beautiful living room.  His wife and one of his two daughters were listening while he was recounting his own life.

A year later, after his experience in the seminary, his life gave a whole twist.

“I needed money for college, where I worked didn’t pay much and I someday I wanted to be able to have a family so I thought of a way that could help me and give me the security I needed to achieve my goal so I decided to join the Navy.”

The Navy life is more than just traveling and knowing people from other places and different cultures, you’re serving the community.

“You learned how to work in groups, there is not just you, you had peers that needed you, we could compete between us, who was the

“Jorge and a pilot in the Saratoga. We are a whole.”

“Jorge and a pilot in the Saratoga. We are a whole.”

better pilot or  the best shooter but at the end we were a whole, if one fails we all did.” he said while explaining that when you join the Navy, they assigned you into groups called squads, those squads where part of an Air Winds, groups of aircrafts, and those Air Winds were part of the aircraft carrier, in his case the Saratoga.

“And that’s where the power lies”, he said proud.

Jorge worked with the aircrafts, it was his job to make sure that they worked fine and that in times of need there wouldn’t be any trouble. “I liked marine aviation but I decided to just work with the aircrafts.”

It was almost noon when he got to the part were not everything was perfect and we realized that even though the military carrier has its advantage it isn’t has easy has it sounds. During Saint Week, 1986, the Saratoga crossed the Gadhafi line when President Reagan attacked Libya, and he remembered a transmission between the captain of the Saratoga and one of the pilot that was sent to eliminate some targets.

“I heard when he (the pilot) asked the captain permission to shoot, he gave it and then there were a moment of silence, but no matter what was the result, you knew that I life was just lost, it could be one of them, it could be one of us, but in just a second, someone had just lost his life.” he said, shaking his head from side to side.

After 10 years of serving, he decided that now he had to dedicate his time to his wife and his eldest daughter. He decided to leave the Navy but to still work for the Federal Government and he started to work for the Department of Aduana.

“He is a good man, and great husband and a special father.” said Edis proudly. “Our first daughter was born at 7th month, we were

worried, she weighs only 2 pounds and it makes me happy to say that he stood by her side until she was discharge from the hospital”

It was almost time for him to go to work, he wore his navy blue uniform, black boots that made him look 6 feet instead of the 5 feet and

“Jorge at the beginning of his career has Aduana agent. He is so proud of being part of Aduana Department”.

“Jorge at the beginning of his career has Aduana agent. He is so proud of being part of Aduana Department”.

10 inches, and with  his black hair and brown skin, it look like a great combination, a total agent. His job consists in revised every vessel that arrives at the port, anyone who arrives in Puerto Rico, people carrying drugs or that arrive here illegally.

“I like my job, every day is something new,” he said

But not everything is perfect, there are things that sometimes bother us and make us realized what is really happening in the world.

“Once I intervene with a man that arrived to Puerto Rico and he had swallowed 105 capsules of heroin in stomach. He was 23 years old and surprising part and the saddest was that he did it for a pair of shoes.” He said sadly, “There are good things and bad things in the world, the thing is how you let it affect you.”

Then he said goodbye to us and left. I realized that throughout his life, he changed a lot of profession but not of purpose, he wanted to serve and he is living a life of serving.

“It is important to live your life with a purpose and goals, because without it is like not living at all”. – Jorge L. Pitre

 

“Jorge and Valeria (niece) at her graduation mass. She is really proud of him.”

“Jorge and Valeria (niece) at her graduation mass. She is really proud of him.”

 

Leave a Reply

