Insert the Title of your Photo Essay Here

By: Jocelyn A. Géliga Vargas

 

Professor Jocelyn A. Géliga Vargas, from the Department of English at the University of Puerto Rico-Mayagüez celebrates the end of the Spring 2014 semester. Géliga Vargas has been teaching at UPRM since January 2005. "The best part of my job is that each semester I meet new people and learn new ideas from each of them."

Dr. Jocelyn A. Géliga Vargas, Associate Professor of English at the University of Puerto Rico-Mayagüez, celebrates the end of the Spring 2014 semester. Géliga Vargas has been teaching at UPRM since January 2005. “The best part of my job is that each semester I meet new people and learn new ideas from each of them.”

Professor Géliga Vargas enjoys a family day at the beach in Joyuda, Puerto Rico. She was born and raised in Puerto Rico but lived her late teenage years and most of her adult like abroad. "When I moved back to Puerto Rico in 2005 my plans were to stay for two years and move on but now, after nine years, I don't think I'm going anywhere. This is home again!"

Professor Géliga Vargas enjoys a family day at the beach in Joyuda. She was born and raised in Puerto Rico but lived her late teenage years and most of her adult life abroad. “When I moved back to Puerto Rico in 2005 my plans were to stay for two years and move on but now, after nine years, I don’t think I’m going anywhere. This is home again!”

An English Writing Center tutor helps a University of Puerto Rico-Mayagüez student polish a paper for an English course. The English Writing Center, located in Celis 323, offers writing support for students working on curricular and extracurricular English projects. "I began coordinating the EWC in January 2013; it has been a gratifying experience to work with such a talented group of undergraduate and graduate tutors."

An English Writing Center tutor helps a University of Puerto Rico-Mayagüez student polish a paper for an English course. Géliga Vargas was appointed English Writing Center Coordinator in January, 2013. “This position has allowed me to put into practice my communications training and background; it is all about collectively and daily figuring out ways of teaching and learning how to communicate effectively with others.”

Leave a Reply

