True Colors (Society’s Misconception About Tattoos)

By: Yeramar Casiano

Image

Angel Torres,18, a professional dancer dressed as a soldier for a presentation. Torres got his first tattoo at the age of 17. “I grew up on my own so each one of my tattoos has a different story to tell. They’re a reminder of my past.”

Image

Raul Seda,20, studying at University of Puerto Rico- Mayagüez’ library on a recent Monday afternoon. Seda got his tattoo three years go. “The taino sun and the Puerto Rican flag represent my roots and love for my country.”

Image

Jose Segui, 23, is a Sociology student at the University of Puerto Rico- Mayagüez. “Why I got a tattoo? It does not has to have a meaning. I just like art and I think every person has their own way to express themselves.” He also has a Green Lantern tattoo on his wrist.

Image

Jennifer Rubio, 29, enjoying a family day on Mothers Day. “I am a mother of two, planning on finish my degree and hopefully get a full sleeve on my arm. Rubio has been a victim of society’s judgment because of her tattoos.

Image

Anthony Rivera, 32, having lunch on Sunday afternoon. “One day I felt like getting another tattoo and ended up with angels, demons and nuns on my arms.” He has been working in a factory for the past five years.

Image

Ivelisse Nicola, 35, is a sales representative at medical insurance company, First Plus. She has been working there for the past 6 years. “ As longs as I cover it with my watch or a bracelet nobody complains.”

Image

Luis Muñiz,38,working on a normal day at his auto part shop in Mayagüez. He opened this business a year ago and got a tattoo as a celebration. “ All I remember is that it hurt like hell.”

Image

Roberto Casiano, 40, working on his mini market on a recent Friday. “As long as you treat people nicely, nobody is going to care about your appearance.” He has been working 12 hours a day for the past four years and has witnessed the ups and downs of economy.

Image

Vanessa Camacho,43, is currently working at an office for the past 10 years. She recently got her ear pierced. ”My kids love the fact that I have tattoos and piercings.”

Image

Jose Fred, 58, playing piano at the plaza in Mayagüez on early March. A retired teacher that came to visit from Boston. “If you think this one on my leg is ugly, you do not want to see the one on my chest.”

Leave a Reply

