More Than Meets the Eye

By, Amanda Ciani

Don’t judge a book by it’s cover!

Carlos Gomez, 20,  enjoying one of the many beautiful days in Puerto Rico. Gomez represented the University of Puerto Rico Mayagüez swimming team. “While everyone else in college is hard at work studying, I prefer to skate.”

Carlos Gomez, 20, enjoying one of the many beautiful days in Puerto Rico. Gomez represented the University of Puerto Rico Mayagüez swimming team. “While everyone else in college is hard at work studying, I prefer to skate.”

David Estrada, Eric Santos, and Alvin Torres, all 18, working on a project to repair a roof. Some how it took three people to screw together a roof. Estrada is studying to become a teacher, Eric wants to become a doctor, and Alvin is an art student.

David Estrada, Eric Santos, and Alvin Torres, all 18, working on a project to repair a roof. Some how it took three people to screw together a roof. Estrada is studying to become a teacher, Eric wants to become a doctor, and Alvin is an art student.

Emanuel Gonzales, 22, jumping for joy after ending his last class. Gonzales represented Colegio at La Justas 2013 and 2014 on the dance team, and went to Florida to represent Colegio in the National and College World Cheerleading Championships. “When a dancer wants to jump, we jump!”

Emanuel Gonzales, 22, jumping for joy after ending his last class. Gonzales represented Colegio at La Justas 2013 and 2014 on the dance team, and went to Florida to represent Colegio in the National and College World Cheerleading Championships. “When a dancer wants to jump, we jump!”

Faviola Alvarez, 19, standing in front of the practice pool in her college Chemistry laboratory coat. Alvarez has been a part of the up and coming water polo team at the University of Puerto Rico Mayagüez but also wants to be a Chemist. “I always wanted to be a part of college instead of just another college student so I needed to find something I could do.”

Faviola Alvarez, 19, standing in front of the practice pool in her college Chemistry laboratory coat. Alvarez has been a part of the up and coming water polo team at the University of Puerto Rico Mayagüez but also wants to be a Chemist. “I always wanted to be a part of college instead of just another college student so I needed to find something I could do.”

JanCarloz Negron, 20, spending his afternoon playing his piano and singing his favorite tunes. Negron has been a part of the University of Puerto Rico Mayagüez volleyball team for two years. “Music always finds a way to relax me no matter how hectic my life is.”

JanCarloz Negron, 20, spending his afternoon playing his piano and singing his favorite tunes. Negron has been a part of the University of Puerto Rico Mayagüez volleyball team for two years. “Music always finds a way to relax me no matter how hectic my life is.”

Javier Estrada, 22, posing in front of the University of Puerto Rico Mayagüez mechanical engineering building. Estrada has been a part of the university’s Judo team and won the silver metal both this year and last year at La Justas. “I started my bachelors in Bayamon and am now one semester away from finishing,oh how I can not wait until that day comes.”

Javier Estrada, 22, posing in front of the University of Puerto Rico Mayagüez mechanical engineering building. Estrada has been a part of the university’s Judo team and won the silver metal both this year and last year at La Justas. “I started my bachelors in Bayamon and am now one semester away from finishing,oh how I can not wait until that day comes.”

Josua Correa, 19, playing the guitar in his room for a couple of friends. Correa has been a part of the University of Puerto Rico Mayagüez track and field and cross country teams since August 2013. “My English is not very good, but I know that I love to play the guitar and sing songs no matter what language they are in.”

Josua Correa, 19, playing the guitar in his room for a couple of friends. Correa has been a part of the University of Puerto Rico Mayagüez track and field and cross country teams since August 2013. “My English is not very good, but I know that I love to play the guitar and sing songs no matter what language they are in.”

Mario Flores, 19, holding up some of his most prized possessions, part of his Harry Potter collection. Flores has been a part of the team that represents the University of Puerto Rico Mayagüez in high jump for the track and field. “I have been in love with Harry Potter since I read the first book.”

Mario Flores, 19, holding up some of his most prized possessions, part of his Harry Potter collection. Flores has been a part of the team that represents the University of Puerto Rico Mayagüez in high jump for the track and field. “I have been in love with Harry Potter since I read the first book.”

Rocio Estrada, 21, displaying the bottom of her favorite skateboard. Rocio has been studying to become a preschool or kindergarten teacher. “I may be a girl, but I can beat most guys when it comes to sports including skating; just give me a challenge.”

Rocio Estrada, 21, displaying the bottom of her favorite skateboard. Rocio has been studying to become a preschool or kindergarten teacher. “I may be a girl, but I can beat most guys when it comes to sports including skating; just give me a challenge.”

Susan Cabello, 19, giving a thumbs up to the beautiful weather in Puerto Rico, allowing her to study at the beach for her biology exams. Cabello has been a member of the track and field team at the University of Puerto Rico Mayagüez and won a bronze metal in a relay at La Justas. “I might have gotten through these past finals without too much preparation, but this time I have really got to study.”

Susan Cabello, 19, giving a thumbs up to the beautiful weather in Puerto Rico, allowing her to study at the beach for her biology exams. Cabello has been a member of the track and field team at the University of Puerto Rico Mayagüez and won a bronze metal in a relay at La Justas. “I might have gotten through these past finals without too much preparation, but this time I have really got to study.”

Leave a Reply

