Purebred or Not, Still Best friends

By: Adriana Cabán Ureña

Aquiles the “King of the House”

 

Aquiles sharing his best smile. This amazing brown Labrador  knew very well what he wanted when many years ago as a puppy he selected his owner, Joshua Jimenez Rivera by walking to him and started to untied Jimenez shoe laces. “Personally I prefer purebred dogs. Also, I prefer big dogs because it makes me feel more protected.”

Aquiles sharing his best smile. This amazing brown Labrador knew very well what he wanted when many years ago as a puppy he selected his owner, Joshua Jimenez Rivera by walking to him and started to untied Jimenez shoe laces. “Personally I prefer purebred dogs. Also, I prefer big dogs because it makes me feel more protected.”

Rihanna and Haely the Best Union  

Haely Ann Lebrón Vázquez and her beautiful Rihanna (dog)  joining of a really fun day, playing in the yard of Haely grandmother’s house. Rihanna was found homeless by a friend of Haely’s Aunt who brought Rihanna to the house so the family could take good care of her. “I love all kinds of doggies! I take care of them, give them food and love.” said the five year old little girl.

Haely Ann Vázquez Lebrón  and her beautiful Rihanna (dog) joining of a really fun day, playing in the yard of Haely grandmother’s house. Rihanna was found homeless by a friend of Haely’s Aunt who brought Rihanna to the house so the family could take good care of her. “I love all kinds of doggies! I take care of them, give them food and love.” said the five year old little girl.

 

Giselmarie and Her 9 Babies

10325554_10152222814168962_3893695799358757222_n

Giselmarie Sánchez and her nine doggies playing in the garden during a sunny Sunday, as she is used to do. This young girl of Aguada, has the privilege of having eight cute Chihuahuas and one that is not a purebred dog. “My first Chihuahua, Loli, was found by my cousin. She was helpless walking down the streets. Loli is the mother and grandmother of all the others. Perla, which is not a purebred dog was given to us because her previous owners didn’t wanted her. Without hesitating, I accepted!”

Meet Canela

Canela (dog) enjoying of a relaxing afternoon with her owner Rocío Colón Torres after her return from the University of Mayagüez. Canela’s mother was a mix of a Chihuahua and a Poodle. “I think that dogs that aren’t purebred are better because they get the best features of their precedents. I also read that they get less sick than purebred dogs”

Canela (dog) enjoying of a relaxing afternoon with her owner Rocío Colón Torres after her return from the University of Mayagüez. Canela’s mother was a mix of a Chihuahua and a Poodle. “I think that dogs that aren’t purebred are better because they get the best features of their precedents. I also read that they get less sick than purebred dogs”

Lolo, a Dog with Personality

Lolo giving a kiss to his owner Ámbar Cabán Ureña. Lolo Cabán, as he is called, was given to her owner by a friend who found him in the streets. “Lolo is a free soul, he is not my pet, he is family”

Lolo giving a kiss to his owner Ámbar Cabán Ureña. Lolo Cabán, as he is called, was given to her owner by a friend who found him in the streets. “Lolo is a free soul, he is not my pet, he is family”

Randy the Consented of the Robles Family

Randy sitting on his favorite pillow. This beautiful Schnauzer is Jan Robles Ríos’ dog and one of his faithful friends who follows Robles everywhere unconditionally.“He is seven years old, a very calmed dog and always looking for  girlfriend”

Randy sitting on his favorite pillow. This beautiful Schnauzer is Jan Robles Ríos’ dog and one of his faithful friends who follows Robles everywhere unconditionally.“He is seven years old, a very calmed dog and always looking for girlfriend”

Lucky and Natalie for Ever

Lucky accompanying his owner Natalie Amadeo on a busy day in the University of Puerto Rico at Mayagüez. Lucky, a Dachshund dog, was a gift from Natalie’s father before she came to the University. Since then, both of them have been inseparable. “I think Universities should be more  animal friendly. When I went to Colorado everything was like that, but here pets don’t have the same privilege. There is many people like me, who feel protected when they have their dogs near them.”

Lucky accompanying his owner Natalie Amadeo on a busy day in the University of Puerto Rico at Mayagüez. Lucky, a Dachshund dog, was a gift from Natalie’s father before she came to the University. Since then, both of them have been inseparable. “I think Universities should be more animal friendly. When I went to Colorado everything was like that, but here pets don’t have the same privilege. There is many people like me, who feel protected when they have their dogs near them.”

Nina, Small But Big in Heart

Nina and her owner, Martina Hernández posing for the camera. Nina was born with a small problem with walking but that doesn’t stop her from spending the majority of her time running around the yard,  said Hernández.“I  have always loved dogs and for that reason my granddaughters brought me this little one so I would not feel alone’’

Nina and her owner, Martina Hernández posing for the camera. Nina was born with a small problem with walking but that doesn’t stop her from spending the majority of her time running around the yard, said Hernández.“I have always loved dogs and for that reason my granddaughters brought me this little one so I would not feel alone.’’

Ironically Blacky

IMG_20140513_144056~2

Blacky showing affection to her owner Hector Nieves, after his return from the University of Mayagüez. Perla was found as a puppy near the sugar mill of Aguada. “When my mother and I found her she was very nervous and all dirty. I told my mom to stop the car and I got off and took her with me. Now she is like my best friend.”

Perla y Popa

Samuel Collazo’s beautiful doggies Perla(right) and Popa (Left)  posing for the camera and showing their best smile.  Behind these two cute faces exists a story to tell; when a day like any other   Perla, the boxer ,appeared at Collazo’s house all undernourished; Popa, in the other hand, was found lying in the corner of a street near a school. “One came and the other one we found it but both are dogs that have shown to be very grateful to us for giving them a home, medicine, food and affection.”

Samuel Collazo’s beautiful doggies Perla(right) and Popa (Left) posing for the camera and showing their best smile. Behind these two cute faces exists a story to tell; when a day like any other Perla, the boxer ,appeared at Collazo’s house all undernourished; Popa, in the other hand, was found lying in the corner of a street near a school. “One came and the other one we found it but both are dogs that have shown to be very grateful to us for giving them a home, medicine, food and affection.”

Leave a Reply

