A Rainbow Between Black & White

By: Jaisline M. Olmeda Rivera

Alex Moisés Castillo Almodóvar, 20, enjoys his life as a gay individual, living without fake appearances, self-judgment or worries anymore.  Besides the multiple difficulties he experienced in the past, he managed to accept who he really is. “I love who I am, I love being gay, I won’t change it. It’s who I am.”

Alex Moisés Castillo Almodóvar, 20, enjoys his life as a gay individual, living without fake appearances, self-judgment or worries anymore. Besides the multiple difficulties he experienced in the past, he managed to accept who he really is. “I love who I am, I love being gay, I won’t change it. It’s who I am.”

In the right, with only one month an a half of age, Alex poses innocently with his twin sister Ashley.  He was born as a normal boy, without any complications, injuries, medical conditions or complex thoughts about his life in general. “I don’t think you are made to be gay, straight or anything else; what the majority of society doesn’t acknowledge is that sexuality is fluid.”

In the right, with only one month an a half of age, Alex poses innocently with his twin sister Ashley. He was born as a normal boy, without any complications, injuries, medical conditions or complex thoughts about his life in general. “I don’t think you are made to be gay, straight or anything else; what the majority of society doesn’t acknowledge is that sexuality is fluid.”

Alex wears a cute birthday hat as he celebrates his brother’s birthday party with three of his sisters and his mother. He was not aware yet of what the concept of sexuality was, but he really loved to share time with his family. “Before I acknowledge and accepted my homosexuality, I was more introverted.”

Alex wears a cute birthday hat as he celebrates his brother’s birthday party with three of his sisters and his mother. He was not aware yet of what the concept of sexuality was, but he really loved to share time with his family. “Before I acknowledge and accepted my homosexuality, I was more introverted.”

Alex’s grandmother Margarita Martínez Montalvo, 70, proudly attends her grandson’s kindergarten graduation. Since Alex's mother Carmen died, she took care of him and his other five siblings. “If it wasn’t for my grandmother I wouldn‘t be where I am today, even with our complicated relationship.”

Alex’s grandmother Margarita Martínez Montalvo, 70, proudly attends her grandson’s kindergarten graduation. Since Alex’s mother Carmen died, she took care of him and his other five siblings. “If it wasn’t for my grandmother I wouldn‘t be where I am today, even with our complicated relationship.”

Alex happily waves at the camera while visiting a New Jersey firehouse with his third grade group. He was experiencing the development of his real sexual preferences in his early years at elementary school. “Since I was eight, I came to the terms that I liked boys and saw nothing wrong about it.”

Alex happily waves at the camera while visiting a New Jersey firehouse with his third grade group. He was experiencing the development of his real sexual preferences in his early years at elementary school. “Since I was eight, I came to the terms that I liked boys and saw nothing wrong about it.”

While he flies a handmade kite at “El Morro” in San Juan, Alex enjoys the Summer of 2009. After years of “hiding” his real self, he decided it was time to tell the truth about his sexuality once and for all. “Actually, one of my friends  took it out of me, and since that day forward  I began telling my closest friends I am gay.”

While he flies a handmade kite at “El Morro” in San Juan, Alex enjoys the Summer of 2009. After years of “hiding” his real self, he decided it was time to tell the truth about his sexuality once and for all. “Actually, one of my friends took it out of me, and since that day forward I began telling my closest friends I am gay.”

Alex has fun in a Christmas party with his closest friends.  When he decided to come out, his friends made him feel comfortable by been comprehensive and caring.  “I have the most accepting, loving, intellectual and amazing friends, who acknowledge me as a whole.”

Alex has fun in a Christmas party with his closest friends. When he decided to come out, his friends made him feel comfortable by been comprehensive and caring. “I have the most accepting, loving, intellectual and amazing friends, who acknowledge me as a whole.”

Alex appreciates the arts of cinematographic production and theater by acting in original plays. When he was in high school, he wrote, acted and directed several projects as part of his English classes. “My high school experience was the point that I started to begin to understand myself.”

Alex appreciates the arts of cinematographic production and theater by acting in original plays. When he was in high school, he wrote, acted and directed several projects as part of his English classes. “My high school experience was the point that I started to begin to understand myself.”

As a student of the Sacred Heart University, Alex volunteers in the Puerto Rico Queer Film Festival. He likes to intertwine his passion for film with  LGBTQ issues. “It's important  to shine the different facets of the LGBTQ community has to offer in the film and television world; by that we break the stereotypes.”

As a student of the Sacred Heart University, Alex volunteers in the Puerto Rico Queer Film Festival. He likes to intertwine his passion for film with LGBTQ issues. “It’s important to shine the different facets of the LGBTQ community has to offer in the film and television world; by that we break the stereotypes.”

As a member of the LGBTQ community, Alex participates in several activities involving the defense of the gay rights. A few months ago, he was able to be part of the gay rights parade that took place in San Juan. “I, as an individual who is gay, should help break down the stigmas, stereotypes and negative concepts towards the LGBTQ community.”

As a member of the LGBTQ community, Alex participates in several activities involving the defense of the gay rights. A few months ago, he was able to be part of the gay rights parade that took place in San Juan. “I, as an individual who is gay, should help break down the stigmas, stereotypes and negative concepts towards the LGBTQ community.”

Leave a Reply

