The Truth At The Bottom

By: Adley Rivera Hernández

John, 19, was raised from birth by his mother and aunts. His father did not have much interest in his infancy, so he was raised by them and his grandfather.  "They’ve always protected and treated me like a girl. I think that was one of the factors that caused me to acquired effeminate mannerisms.”

John Martinez, 19, was raised from birth by his mother and aunts. His father did not have much interest in his infancy, so he was raised by them and his grandfather.
“They’ve always protected and treated me like a girl. I think that was one of the factors that caused me to acquired effeminate mannerisms.”

He recalls one of his best Christmas when he was seven years when he spend it with his family, especially with his mother. After that event, she was detected with a number of diseases, and currently she can not avail for herself, a situation that has affected him very much.

He recalls one of his best Christmas when he was seven years when he spend it with his family, especially with his mother, Inés Maldonado. After that event, she was detected with a number of diseases, and currently she can not avail for herself, a situation that has affected him very much.

One game he liked to do as a child was playing with dolls. He loved to put make-up on them or comb and seek their Barbie costumes; to his family this situation seemed ordinary.  "I hated playing with cars and I loved playing with my cousin to be a hairdresser and make her hairstyles and to our dolls

One game he liked to do as a child was playing with dolls. He loved to put make-up on them or comb and seek their Barbie costumes; to his family this situation seemed ordinary.
“I hated playing with cars and I loved playing with my cousin to be a hairdresser and make her hairstyles and to our dolls.”

Every year for Halloween, her aunts took care of getting him a costume and he always chose not very manly costumes.  They always pleased him until a year he asked if he could wear a bee girl costume, a situation that her aunts tried to correct by saying he was a boy and that it wasn’t right to dress like a girl.  "My aunts took me to my house and told my mother what had happened. After they were gone, my mother talked to me and with time, my dolls were disappearing, leaving only the boy toys. "

Every year for Halloween, her aunts took care of getting him a costume and he always chose not very manly costumes. They always pleased him until a year he asked if he could wear a bee girl costume, a situation that her aunts tried to correct by saying he was a boy and that it wasn’t right to dress like a girl.
“My aunts took me to my house and told my mother what had happened. After they were gone, my mother talked to me and with time, my dolls were disappearing, leaving only the boy toys. “

When he was in kindergarten, despite arriving first at the races at school, he declined to participate at his field day because he did not like sports. Upon entering the school, he also started to feel attraction towards men. "I liked the girls because it was what they had taught me, but I found attractive boys of my age."

When he was in kindergarten, despite arriving first at the races at school, he declined to participate at his field day because he did not like sports. Upon entering the school, he also started to feel attraction towards men.
“I liked the girls because it was what they had taught me, but I found attractive boys of my age.”

At fourteen, he had his first girlfriend named Monica. After nine months of courtship, the relationship was terminated because he felt no attraction towards her.  "I looked at her, kissed her, I spoke to her every day and considered beautiful, but I saw her as a friend."

At fourteen, he had his first girlfriend named Monica Rivera. After nine months of courtship, the relationship terminated because he felt no attraction towards her.
“I looked at her, kissed her, I spoke to her every day and considered beautiful, but I saw her as a friend.”

His first male friend had been at fifteen, Gerardo. He was the first to whom he confessed that he was gay, and the first to accept it. Currently they remain friends and never had problems. “I always had girlfriends because the boys did not accept me and offended me.”

His first male friend had been at fifteen, Gerardo Vázquez. He was the first to whom he confessed that he was gay, and the first to accept it. Currently they remain friends and never had problems.
“I always had girlfriends because the boys did not accept me and offended me.”

Fernando, 18, is his boyfriend. They met two years ago while taking a class and eventually began dating until they became partners.  Even then, John's mother did not know his attraction to men.

Fernando Rivera, 18, is his boyfriend. They met two years ago while taking a class and eventually began dating until they became partners. Even then, John’s mother did not know his attraction to men.

During the graduation day, John decided to admit his homosexuality to his mother and the next day confronted her and told the truth about his sexual orientation.  "I told her and my aunts that I am gay and have a partner; surprised, they began to cry. Despite this initial reaction, I was accepted but there have been ups and downs since then."

During the graduation day, Martinez decided to admit his homosexuality to his mother and the next day confronted her and told the truth about his sexual orientation.
“I told her and my aunts that I am gay and have a partner; surprised, they began to cry. Despite this initial reaction, I was accepted but there have been ups and downs since then.”

Currently John is attending activities such as gay parades in Cabo Rojo, Puerto Rico, and is proud of his sexuality without shame and without fear." "I love going because I feel I'm with people who can understand me and what I have been through."

Currently Martinez is attending activities such as gay parades in Cabo Rojo, Puerto Rico, and is proud of his sexuality without shame and without fear.”
“I love going because I feel I’m with people who can understand me and what I have been through.”

Leave a Reply

