She was Called a Miracle

By Niomarie Gonzalez Perez

That young woman with tan skin and a curly bouncy hair walks around people like nothing had happen. Young and beautiful she had the chance to live a normal life after that accident on June 23, 2007 when she was 12 years old.

“I just remember that my eyes were closed because I was sleepy, I felt when we crashed and then I went unconscious,” she started narrating her story, “I did not know anything until I woke up from the sound of my mother’s voice. She was asking me if I could move my arms and legs and then she pulled me out of the car,” she said, frowning and teary.

In the accident she was injured in the head by the impact of her head with the front sit and the side window. Also she had bruises all over her legs but the concern was her head.

“How I got to the hospital is very interesting. My mom couldn’t find her phone, so she stands in the middle of the street and started asking for help. When a car finally stopped it was my third grade teacher. She helped us and drove us into the hospital that was nearest to us,” she explained as her eyes reflected the emotions she felt.

She was covered in blood, the people in the emergency room stared at her weird. Doctors and nurses immediately transferred her to the trauma area to get her head stitched up. “That was horrible, I could feel how the needle penetrated my head and how the doctor pulled to close the wound,” she said making a pain face.

“After they helped me in those first hours following the accident they had to transfer me to the Buen Samaritano Hospital in Aguadilla, to do a CT scan because I was afraid of the MRI machine.” She never overcame the fear to the CT scan or MRI.
Her recovery was unbelievably slow. The wounds didn’t close in the time required and she still had blood in the frontal region of her head. The blood clot that she had in that area had to be removed because it could later convert into a bone deformation. She had to have surgery immediately to get the blood clot out.

“I had to be transferred to the Hospital Universitario in Río Piedras, Puerto Rico, but something curious happened,” her eyes opened in excitement. “On our way my father got hungry, so we stopped at Plaza del Norte in Hatillo. When we finished eating we went back to the car.” Waving her hands in a rhythm while she reminisced, she added, “When I was about to enter the car, I tripped and hit my head with the door of the car. In that moment the blood clot fell on the floor.”

Her parents hurried their way to the hospital all scared because of what had happened. She got to the hospital and the surgeon was checking her head immediately while they explained what had happened. “She asked my mom if she believed in miracles, my mother told her that she did believe in them, and the doctor told her that I was a miracle, that I didn’t have to go into surgery because the blood clot they were going to take out, it was already out,” she smiled and added, “my mother cried out of happiness.”

Her recovery was slow but everything was eventually fine.

The suffering, the pain, and the visiting doctors every now and then were the worst part, but she also learned from that bad experience.

“Life is short,” she said, “in one second anything can happen. But I also learned that everybody deserves a second chance like I had.” That’s when she decided to become a doctor. “I want to become a person who helps other people.”

After the accident many good experiences happened in her life, she gained a better attitude towards life, “how I visualize things and appreciate the things I have, it changed since then accident.”

She had the opportunities to travel to Florida, New York, Canada, different islands of the Caribbean and Washington DC, which she says is the best place she has visited.

“The moments I have had with my friends and family, those little moments I spend with them, like watching TV or just talking are the best moments I can have,” She said with a wide smile and in her eyes you could see how it meant to her.

Her achievements in college are impeccable: she is in the honors roll in the Pontificia Universidad Católica de Puerto Rico, entering a binary program of medicine and just having one year left to start her studies in the Ponce School of Medicine at the age of 20.

“She is an amazing person. She is very caring and so good in college, unbelievably good,” said Talia, her best friend.

“I had been her friend since high school, talking about this event in her life is not easy for her but she managed to get over it and decided to become a doctor to help the ones that have to pass similar situations,” Talia said about her with joy and admiration.

“One day she will become a doctor, she will become the best doctor in her specialization,” Talia exclaimed.

“I learned that we have to live our lives to the fullest,” and that’s how that wonderful young woman lives day by day.

*This is based on a true story, but as a wish from the protagonist it will remain anonymous

Leave a Reply

