Proud Puerto Ricans: A Culture of Diversity

By: Paola B. Rodríguez Borrés

Looking Foreign, Feeling at Home

“Being Boricua makes me proud, we are such a small island but united despite all the problems as a society.” Maralexys Quintana, 19,expresses how gets frustrated because she is confused very often of being a US citizen.  “My goal is to stay in Puerto Rico after finishing my studies because I’m not change my culture, my family or my environment for anything"

“Being Boricua makes me proud, we are such a small island but united despite all the problems as a society.” Maralexys Quintana, 19,expresses how gets frustrated because she is confused very often of being a US citizen.
“My goal is to stay in Puerto Rico after finishing my studies because I’m not change my culture, my family or my environment for anything”

Weird, but Proud

Mario Reyes, 19, Computer Engineering student. He mentioned he has always been made fun of by his wide forehead. “ That’s just part of our African offspring, just as big noses are and I’m proud of that.”

Mario Reyes, 19, Computer Engineering student. He mentioned he has always been made fun of by his wide forehead. “ That’s just part of our African offspring, just as big noses are and I’m proud of that.”

Two Countries, One Body

Although is often, confused as an Haitian and has Haitian siblings, Reynaldo Belfort, 22, is Puerto Rican.  “Proud to be born in Boricua ground, coming of Haitian offspring!”

Although is often, confused as an Haitian and has Haitian siblings, Reynaldo Belfort, 22, is Puerto Rican.
“Proud to be born in Boricua ground, coming of Haitian offspring!”

Redhead Rubi

“People to hear my name and see me and automatically think I'm not from here.”  Rubinette Rivera, 21, has great admiration for United States music and entertainment. Despite that she is fully loyal to her Puerto Rican inheritance.

“People to hear my name and see me and automatically think I’m not from here.” Rubinette Rivera, 21, has great admiration for United States music and entertainment. Despite that she is fully loyal to her Puerto Rican inheritance.

Blue Eyes, Guitar Hips

“People always confuse me when I'm traveling, they usually think I’m of American nationality, however my body tells them otherwise.” Solange González, 21, has always been characterized for her mixture of wide hips but blue eyes and pale skin.

“People always confuse me when I’m traveling, they usually think I’m of American nationality, however my body tells them otherwise.” Solange González, 21, has always been characterized for her mixture of wide hips but blue eyes and pale skin.

Majestad negra is my Anthem”

Yaelis Acevedo, 19, explains that growing up she thought everyone was like her. This because all her family are “trigueños” and have many Afro-American traits. "Growing up in this land involves a mixture of traditions and ideologies that accompany you for a lifetime"

Yaelis Acevedo, 19, explains that growing up she thought everyone was like her. This because all her family are “trigueños” and have many Afro-American traits. “Growing up in this land involves a mixture of traditions and ideologies that accompany you for a lifetime”

“Patria, amor y libertad”

“Being Puerto Rican is the best thing that could have ever happened to me. Thank God for that!” She said while she continued talking about how patriotic her family is. Loaíza Concepción, 37,  says she has her nose and curves are “very Boricua”.

“Being Puerto Rican is the best thing that could have ever happened to me. Thank God for that!” She said while she continued talking about how patriotic her family is.
Loaíza Concepción, 37, says she has her nose and curves are “very Boricua”.

From the Same Ground

Beatriz Otero, 81, was raised in Vega Baja. “I think that’s why I feel we came from the earth, I felt close to it. I have many scars and peculiarities as a result of living in the country, that only my neighbors and sibling had.” She explains that  many people say that persons with big ears is one of those peculiarities.

Beatriz Otero, 81, was raised in Vega Baja. “I think that’s why I feel we came from the earth, I felt close to it. I have many scars and peculiarities as a result of living in the country, that only my neighbors and sibling had.”
She explains that many people say that persons with big ears is one of those peculiarities.

Music & Coffee to Keep the Patriotism

“The Puerto Rican is where the adventure, cleverness and art became a human, a product of flavor and taste, pain and work were made." José Rivera, 25, as a professional musician believes Puerto Rican music is going to make him stay alive when he goes lives in the United States in January. "To many, being Puerto Rican reminds them of coffee, our essence charms and our taste creates maddens and addiction.”

“The Puerto Rican is where the adventure, cleverness and art became a human, a product of flavor and taste, pain and work were made.” José Rivera, 25, as a professional musician believes Puerto Rican music is going to make him stay alive when he goes lives in the United States in January.
“To many, being Puerto Rican reminds them of coffee, our essence charms and our taste creates maddens and addiction.”

Honey Eyes, Pale Skin

“Being Boricua is carried on the heart, not the skin.” she says after explaining how many people compare her to her name because she’s as white as crystal is.  Krystal Vélez, 20, expresses that “because I’m pale I still keep being as Boricua as others .”

“Being Boricua is carried on the heart, not the skin.” she says after explaining how many people compare her to her name because she’s as white as crystal is.
Krystal Vélez, 20, expresses that “Because I’m pale I still keep being as Boricua as others .”

Leave a Reply

